President Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has at last sent a list of 43 ministerial nominees to the Senate, Nigeria’s upper legislative chamber.

The President, who was elected for the first time in May 2015, was reelected February 23, 2019 and officially sworn in on May 29, 2019.

The 43 ministerial nominees represent one from each of the 36 states of the federation and one each from the six geo-political zones of the country. This is however unlike his first tenure when he appointed only 36 ministers from the 36 states of the federation.

Prominent on the list are younger sister of immediate past Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki; Gbemi Saraki, spokesperson of the Buhari Campaign Organisation, Festus Keyamo SAN, immediate past governor of Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola, former Ministers of Works and Housing, Power and Transport, Babatunde Fashola and Rotimi Amaechi, respectively as well as Labour and Science counterparts, Dr. Chris Ngige and Chief Ogbonnaya Onu as well as former governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Timipre Sylva, among several others.

Business and Transport gathered that the list was sent to the Senate Monday evening through an executive communication and is expected to have been read on the floor of the Senate today, Tuesday, July 23, 2019.

The senate, which will be proceeding on a two-month recess from Thursday, is therefore expected to screen and confirm the nominees before embarking on the recess, an indication that it has just two days to do that.

Details of the list show that a total of t 12 ministers from the former cabinet made the new list. This is however contrary to earlier speculations that most of the former ministers would be reappointed.

It was also gathered that the President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan has already read the full list on the floor of the house during plenary today.

The comprehensive list is as follows:

Ikechukwu Oga- Abia

Mohammed Musa Bello-Adamawa

Godswill Akpabio- Akwa Ibom

Chris Ngige- Anambra

Sharon Ikeazor -Anambra

Adamu Adamu -Bauchi

Maryam Katagum -Bauchi

Timipre Sylva -Bayelsa

George Akume -Benue

Mustapha Baba Shehuri -Borno

Goddy Agba -Cross Rivers

Festus Keyamo -Delta

Ogbonnaya Onu -Ebonyi

Osagie Enakhire -Edo

Clement Agba -Edo

Adeniyi Adebayo -Ekiti

Geofrey Onyeama -Enugu

Ali Issa Fantami -Gombe

Emeka Nwajiuba -Imo

Suleiman Adamu -Jigawa

Zainab Ahmed -Kaduna

Mohammed Mahmoud -Kaduna

Sabo Nanunu -Kano

Bashir Salihi Magashi -Kano

Hadi Sirika -Katsina

Abubakar Malami -Kebbi

Ahmadu Tijani -Kogi

Lai Mohammed -Kwara

Gbemisola Saraki-Kwara

Babatunde Raji Fashola -Lagos

Oloronimbe Momora -Lagos

Muhammed Abdullahi Nasarawa

Zubeira Dada -Niger

Olamilekan Adegbite -Ogun

Tayo Alasoadura -Ondo

Rauf Aregbesola -Osun

Sunday Dare -Oyo

Pauline Tallen -Plateau

Rotimi Amaechi -Rivers

Muhammadu Maigari Dingyadi -Sokoto

Saleh Mohammed -Taraba

Abubakar Aliyu -Yobe

Sadiya Umar Farouk -Zamfara