Iju Tony Nwabunike


Strong indications emerged that the election of pioneer chairman of the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding Practice in Nigeria CRFFN, Iju Tony Nwabunike Thursday as the new president of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents ANLCA, did not come easy.

Recall that Business and Transport had yesterday reported exclusively the outcome of the election less than 15 minutes after the votes were counted and result declared.

Sources at the election venue in Enugu, hinted that the exercise was characterised by high-wired politicking, scheming and horse trading at the end of which Iju Nwabunike scored 38 votes as against the 35 votes polled by his opponent Emenike Nwokedi, thus defeating him with three votes.

The result also show that Iju Nwabunike’s vice, Dr. Kayode Farinto  was also elected, having polled 38 votes.

Other details show that Alhaji Mukaila Abdulazeez was elected National Secretary, having polled 70 votes, Denis Okwu emerged Assist National Secretary with 41 votes, Hajia Bola Muse, National Financial Secretary by polling 43 votes while Dada Livinus Agubuzo became the National Treasurer, having scored 39 votes.

Also elected is the immediate past Senior Special Assistant to the outgoing President, Prince Olayiwola Shittu, Joe Sanni, who declared his intention to contest the election about 10 days ago emerged the National Publicity Secretary, having polled 41 votes, while the Zonal Coordinator West  garnered33 votes, even as Alhaji Liasu Oyekangu emerged the Zonal Secretary, West with 39 votes.