Dr. Jamoh

The Executive Director Finance and Administration of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency NIMASA, Dr. Bashir Jamoh has been elected the President and Chairman of Council of the Chartered Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria CIoTA.

He replaces Prof Innocent Ogwude, who stepped down after five years at the helm of affairs of institute as part of activities marking the 2018 edition of its National Conference and Annual General Meeting held in Uyo, the Akwa Ibom State capital.

The theme of the two-day national conference was: “National Transport Commission and the Development of the Transport Industry”, which saw delegates from NIMASA, Federal Universities of Technology Owerri, Akure, Minna, and the Universities of Lagos, Port Harcourt,  as well as delegates from state chapters of the institute.

The new president in his acceptance speech thanked the institute for reposing confidence in him by electing him president and chairman of council of the great institute, pledging to bring his wealth of experience to bear on his new job.

He also promised to work as a team with the other elected executives with a view to taking the institute to the next level and also solicited the assistance and cooperation of all members including the outgoing executive members.

Dr. Jamoh however commended the Board of Trustees of the Institute, headed by Dr. Zeb  Ikokide for coordinating the electoral processes and a seamless transition.

Other elected national executive council members to pilot the affairs of the premier transport institute include Mr. Darlington Ofor and Prof Callistus Ibe, who emerged first and second Deputy Presidents respectively; Dr Oluropo Owolabi, Vice President; Nnamdi Eronini, National Secretary; Pascal Obi, Assistant National Secretary, Mrs. Ijeaku Onyewuego.

Also elected were Mr. Sani Adamu Muazu,, who emerged national treasurer; even as Mr. Kenneth Ibiama was elected national provost, among others.

The event also witnessed the conferment of the institute’s fellowship awards to deserving individuals including the Managing Director of NPA, Hadiza Bala Usman, a former Executive Director of NPA, Mr. Sotonye Inyeinengi-Etomi,  Managing Director/CEO of Orava Nigeria Limited, Mr. Darlington Nnabugo Ofor, MD/CEO White Dove Shipping Company Ltd, Mr. Christopher Ucheobi, Director Road Traffic, Federal Ministry of Works, Power & Housing Engr. Oyekanmi Jacob and two Executive Directors of NIMASA; Alhaji Abdulssalam Gambo and Engr. Rotimi Fashakin.

Others include Mr. Akin Makinde, Ms. Ifeoma Ezedinma and Barr Mrs Ala Dublin-Green, who are Directors Inland Transport Services, Regulatory Services and Deputy Director Legal Services respectively at Nigerian Shippers Council, Director, Centre for Logistics & Transport Studies, University of Port Harcourt Dr. Gladys Emenike, , Director of Administration, Emsee Shipping/Ibru Organisation Sir Henry Muogho and Deputy Director Admin in charge of Transport of NIMASA Kabir Murnai.

The Chartered Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria (CIoTA) remains the foremost transport institute in Nigeria focussed on training human resource capacity in the transport and related sectors of the economy. It has adopted “chartered” to its name in line with tenets & particulars lodged with the National Assembly.