Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Adegboyega Oyetola.

Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Adegboyega Oyetola, and President of the Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote have both accepted to grace the 25th anniversary celebration of the League of Maritime Editors LOME scheduled to hold December 7, barring any last minute change in the scheme of things.

While the Minister is expected to be Chief Host of the two-day event, Alhaji Dangote is expected to be chairman of event.

According to a statement jointly signed by the President of the group, Chief Timothy Okorocha and Publicity Secretary, Francis Ugwoke, the first phase of the anniversary which will be marked with a retreat in Lagos, which is loaded with a number of activities.

The statement also says that part of the programmes lined up for the event include presentation of papers by distinguished industry CEOs and chieftains and merit award to deserving corporate organisations and individuals.

The themes of the celebration are: “Harnessing Nigeria’s Potential in Marine and Blue Economy” and “The New Customs Act 2023 and Its Implication on Trade”.

It was gathered that the Nigeria Customs Service and other agencies under the Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy are expected to make paper presentation in respect of their contributions to the success of the blue economy under the new administration of President Bola Tinubu.

The statement also indicates that no fewer than 16 corporate organisations and individuals drawn from the maritime sector, among them, the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency NIMASA, Customs, Nigerian Ports Authority NPA and the Nigerian Shippers’ Council NSC have been slated for the conferment of awards based on their remarkable performances in their statutory obligations in the sector.

The Comptroller-General of Customs, Bashir Adewale Adeniyi MFR, Assistant Comptroller-General of Customs (ACG Headquarters), Alhaji A.O Olajogun shall also be conferred with individual awards.

The League identified two prominent women in the industry   to be honoured during the event.

They are the   Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy, Dr. Mrs. Magdalene Ajani   and the recently retired General Manager, Corporate & Strategic Communications, NPA, Mrs. Josephine Moltok.

The League, according to the statement, has followed their track records since they joined the industry, which accounts for the honour being extended to them.

The event which is billed to hold at the Lagos Travel Inn, 39/41 Toyin Street, Ikeja, Lagos, by 10 am, is part of the contributions of League to the success of the blue economy agenda of the federal government.

  League is a foremost maritime journalists’ association based in Lagos, whose members are part of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lagos Council. The League is the maritime industry watchdog and agenda- setter.