Chairman, NUJ, Lagos Council, Adeleye Ajayi

Apex maritime media association, the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria MARAN has concluded plans to organise a grand reception in honour of the newly elected chairman of the Nigerian Union of Journalists NUJ, Lagos Council, Adeleye Ajayi, who is also a former president of the association.

Slated for Thursday March, 25 2021 at 11am prompt at the Rockview Hotel Apapa, the theme of the event is “National Development: The Challenges of and the Prospects for the Proper Implementation of the Freedom of Information FOI Act in Nigerian Maritime Industry “

According to a statement by the association, the event, which would be chaired by former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents ANLCA, Prince Olayiwola Shittu promises to have eminent stakeholders in attendance.

“Ajayi served MARAN meritoriously at different times as both Secretary General and later as President, respectively. The Association is therefore planning a grand reception to celebrate his electoral success.

“This grand reception and lecture aims to boost the synergy between the Maritime Press and Maritime Publics and Government Parastatals”, the statement also said.

It was gathered that the lead paper would be presented by seasoned Journalist and the Editor of the XPRESS Newspaper, Emeka Okoroanyawu, who was one of the founders of MARAN in 1988. Also, former General Manager, Lagos Traffic FM, Layinka Adagun, a pioneer MARAN member, would also be a panel discussant to enhance the theme’s perspectives.

The special guests of honour expected at the event includes; the Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority NPA, Hadiza Bala Usman, the Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency NIMASA, Dr. Bashir Jamoh, Executive Secretary/CEO, Nigerian Shippers Council, Barr Hassan Bello, and Managing Director, National Inland Waterways Authority NIWA Dr. George Moghalu.

Others are Assistant Comptroller General, Nigeria Customs Service in charge of Zone ‘A’ Lagos, ACG Kaycee Ekekezie and the Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotosho.

The Chief Guests of Honours Chairperson of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria STOAN Princess Dr. Vicki Haastrup and National President of ANLCA, Hon. Iju Tony Nwabunike.

Others are President- General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria MWUN Comrade Adewale Adeyanju, immediate past chairman of Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria CRFFN Aare Hakeem Olanrewaju and the founder of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders NAGAFF Dr. Boniface Aniebonam.

In addition, all MARAN past presidents and executives would be on ground to grace the occasion.