Minister of Transport, Engr. Mu’azu Sambo has confirmed his attendance at the 34th anniversary celebration and awards of the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria MARAN. The event, formerly slated for November 30, 2022 has been rescheduled to hold December 9, 2022 at the Providence Hotel, Ikeja GRA, Lagos at 4pm.

A statement by the association says the theme of the event, which would be chaired by the former Director General of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency NIMASA, Dr. Ade Dosunmu is: “16 Years of Port Concession: The Pains and the Gains”

While speaking on the event, the Minister said: “I would not want to miss the event because Maritime sector is my first love and MARAN is my immediate constituency”

The statement also said a highpoint of the event would be the presentation of the prestigious “DIAMOND AWARD to the Minister.

The 34th anniversary and Awards 2022 of MARAN is expected to be attended by over 250 maritime industry professionals drawn from the maritime agencies, terminal operators, security agencies, international and domestic companies operating in Nigeria.

Also expected to receiive awards at the MARAN night of honour include Chairman of SIFAX Group, Dr. Taiwo Afolabi, Director General of NIMASA, Dr. Bashir Jamoh, Chairman, Genesis Worldwide Shipping, Captain Emmanuel Iheanacho and Chairman, Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria STOAN, Princess Dr. Vicky Haastrup,

Others are: Presidential flag bearer of the New Nigeria People’s Party NNPP, Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso, Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Col Hameed Ali, Chairman of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency NDLEA Brig. Gen. Buba Marwa (Rtd.) Founder, National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders NAGAFF, Dr. Boniface Aniebonam, former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents ANLCA, Prince Olayiwola Shittu as well as the Chairman of Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) Tsanni Abubakar.

Other notable stakeholders to bag the MARAN prestigious awards are; Customs Area Controller, Apapa Customs Command, Compt Yusuf Malanta, Chairman of Wealthy Honey Nigeria Limited, Dr. Kayode Farinto, the Iyalaje Kano and Chairman of Bomarah Group, Hajia Bola Muse, President General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) Comrade Adewale Adeyanju, frontline Shipowner, Alhaji Aminu Umar.

Others include Lagos State Waterways Authority LASWA, Customs Area Controller, Onne Customs Command, Comptroller Auwal Mohammed, National Coordinator of 100% Compliance Team of NAGAFF, Alhaji Tanko Ibrahim, former Executive Director Finance and Administration of NPA, Mr. Olumide Oduntan.

Companies and government agencies that are billed to clinch awards includes; Nigerian Ports Authority NPA APM Terminals Apapa, Tolaram Group, proponents of the Lekki Deep Seaport, frontline logistics firm; Settle Systems Nigeria Limited, Grimaldi Shipping Nigeria Limited among others.

The lead paper for the event would be delivered by immediate past Executive Secretary/CEO of the Nigerian Shippers Council Barr Hassan Bello, while the Managing Director of NPA, Mohammed Bello-Koko, Mrs. Jean Chiazor Anishere, Managing Director of Trucks Transit Park Limited (PTT) Jama Onwubuariri and Registrar of NAGAFF Academy, Mr. Francis Omotosho would discuss the paper.

In addition, all the maritime agencies, including: NPA, NIMASA, National Inland Waterways Authority NIWA, Nigeria Shippers Council NSC, terminal operators; including TICT Terminal, PTML Terminal, APM Terminals among others have all expressed their desire to be fully involved in the one-day MARAN anniversary and awards,

The MARAN Awards come once in a decade and the last edition was held in December 2013.

MARAN is the foremost maritime media association which was formed in November 1988 and has since then remained the umbrella body of all journalists posted to cover or report the activities of the nation’s shipping and allied business.